Quick Thought: What’s up with “society’s standards”?

I think I’m going to explore this a little more in a multi-part series of posts: what is up with society’s standards?  Who imposes them, and why do we as individuals put so much stock in them when trying to decide who we are?  While there are some things that are generally socially unacceptable, a lot of things that get snubbed or shunned are generally harmless and are a part of a person’s creative expression.  I’ve always been an individual, and rarely have I put much stock into what society thinks I should do with my life or personality.  The more I look at the world, and the more I settle into myself and become comfortable being this person (it’s a long, ongoing process), the more I wonder about these things.

Some ideas I’d like to explore:

1. Standards of beauty/body image. 

2. Standards of entertaining oneself

There are probably more, but those were the ones that have been flitting about my brain and catching the attention of my attentively deficient curiosity.  Basically, I want to know not so much where these ‘standards’ come from or how/why they became ‘standard’, but more like… why should I really care about them?

Quite a bit of the feedback I’ve been getting is from people who are individuals and not afraid to be so.  It’s really encouraging to know that there are people out there who don’t care what the world thinks or says, and aren’t afraid to be themselves.  So thank you for the feedback thus far, and hopefully I can continue to be pleasantly cynical about said topics.

6 comments on “Quick Thought: What’s up with “society’s standards”?

  1. I will be anxious to hear more on what you have to say about this. This is a conversation I have on a recurring basis with a friend of mine, about when society’s standard for beauty became a size 00 with anorexia-like features.

    Can’t wait to see what you have to say about this.

  2. And then it gets interesting when even those who are that size get flak for being so thin. I had a student last year who was extremely thin and was tired of how people always assumed she was anorexic or didn’t eat, when in reality she had a huge appetite and a super metabolism. It drove her crazy.

  3. Right. I knew a girl like that in high school, and people always made the assumption that she didn’t eat, when she could match a football player bite for bite. I completely acknowledge that there are just people who are naturally thin, but I’d like to see society not accept that as the only thing that’s beautiful.

    I have my thoughts on it, but I want to see what you have to say about it before I start the discussion here.

Leave a Reply

