30 Days of Video Games: Day 4, Guilty Pleasure Game

To be honest I’m not sure where to start with this. I’ve never been a fan of the whole “guilty pleasure” thing. My best friend says I have an extra guilt muscle, which is something I’m trying to overcome. Also, guilty pleasure insinuates that one should be ashamed for finding pleasure in something, and we all know how I feel about shame. If I like something, I’m going to like it and be damned proud of it. Now, that’s not to say that all ‘guilty pleasures’ are okay, or even legal. I’m thinking, the things that aren’t illegal or harmful to oneself or to others, and therefore, shouldn’t be considered “guilty” pleasures.

So I’m sort of at a loss as to what to say is a guilty pleasure game for me. Every game I play, I play for a reason, be it story, character, gameplay dynamics, or because I need to blow off steam. There’s something satisfying about feeling fed up with something and channeling that rage through a pixelated sub-machine gun at an equally pixelated target. And maybe because that allows me to experience some sort of vicarious violence, that could then be construed as a guilty pleasure.

I think in that case a lot of hack ‘n slash games might fit the bill. Maybe Gauntlet Dark Legacy; I love the music and the castle that serves as a home to the portals to the other worlds, but when all’s said and done, it’s a fancy hack ‘n slash. There’s very little strategy to getting through the levels save for shoot the crap out of everything you come across. Maybe saving up on magic, getting food, and using skills it requires some forethought, but in terms of fighting, just mash the attack button and you’re good. And besides, it’s got a level with creepy clowns and music that involves people laughing maniacally in the background. What’s not to love?

As a result, I’m free to enjoy the scenery and the music–aka, take pleasure in those things. Perhaps the ease of combat allows me to take pleasure in it. Perhaps I’m just overthinking this. Either way, I’m not ashamed to say I like the game, and certainly feel no guilt over playing it. But since that’s what the prompt asks me to ponder…. there you have it!

Tomorrow: Day 5, Game character you feel you are most like (or wish you were)…

5 comments on “30 Days of Video Games: Day 4, Guilty Pleasure Game

  1. I love Gauntlet: Dark Legacy! Shoot, if you’re using “combat requires no skill” as your criteria for guilt, that’s pretty much everything for me. I am such a button masher, it’s insane! Soul Caliber is my worst offender, but I struggled to beat most video games until relatively recently (yet I still consider myself a gamer, go figure). It’s astounding how much I’ve gotten “better” at gaming just since switching from primarily console to primarily computer a few years ago. Yet (guilty!), I’m currently playing Mass Effect 2 on casual mode because dying annoys me when I’ve got STORY to find out about 🙂

    • Yeah, it’s hard for me to think of things as “guilty pleasures” because really, it’s not hurting me or anyone else, and it’s legal, so why should I feel guilt about enjoying it? This prompt was difficult for me because of my feelings about guilty pleasures not being guilty.

      I too play the ME games and even DA on casual, because I have story to find out, darn it! It’s why I gave Isabela to the Arishok the first time through DA2, because I was just too tired of the story being stalled.

  2. I’m finding that the older I get, the less I care about what other people think about what I do, so the term “guilty pleasure” has less and less meaning for me. Like, for example…I like the movie Waterworld. Yes, I know it bombed at the box office. Don’t care. I enjoy it.

    Anyway, back to gaming. Hard to say, since I feel very little guilt about the games I play. If I had to pick one it would be the Serious Sam series. There’s no real story, you just blow crap up. And I couldn’t beat the final fight without cheating, so I did. I went on god mode and blew the holy hell out of absolutely everything. And it was glorious. The god mode part is the guilty pleasure, since I usually play games on hard mode. Sometimes, though, you just want to blow crap up.

    • Oh, I completely LOVE GDL, don’t get me wrong! Great music, love the graphics and atmosphere. Like I said, this prompt was really hard for me hehe.

Leave a Reply

