30 Days of Video Games: Day 26, best voice acting

I initially thought this prompt would be difficult, since I wasn’t sure where to go with it.  And I’m sure there are better voice-acted games out there than I’m putting down right now, but I think I’m going to have to go with Gears of War.  Yes, yes, I’m a fangirl.  But I’ve always felt that the characters are what really make this game, and a large part of the characters is their voices.

Each of the members of Delta Squad has a unique voice that matches his personality and makes him a fully fleshed out character.  Marcus’s cynical, laconic gruffness adds to his mystery.  Dominic is gentle and soft-spoken, but can tell it like it is when he needs to.  Baird is a pain in the butt, just whiny enough to annoy you, but not so whiny that he grates on you and makes you wish you could turn and shoot him.  And then there’s Cole, whose enthusiasm and exuberance adds humor.  He tells it like it is in a way that makes us shake our heads, but we’re smiling when we do.

All three of their individual voices add a lot to their interactions.  They are all so completely different in terms of personality, and that shows through in their speech with each other and with other people.  The NPCs also have good voice acting, and as you play and listen you get the feeling that these could be real people.  Not only are these characters well-written, but they’re well-acted as well, making them more real than most.

Like I said, I’m sure there are better choices out there, but for me, for now, I’d say Gears of War has the best.

2 comments on “30 Days of Video Games: Day 26, best voice acting

  1. Don’t know what it is about the gears series but I can’t get into it. Not a big fan of third person perspective shooters to begin with. There were quite a few funny one liners in the one I played.

Leave a Reply

