30 Days of Video Games: Day 29, a game I ended up loving

Okay, so I know May is over, but I started this 30 days thing and by golly, I’m going to finish it.  Especially with only two days left to go.  So here goes: this asks for a game I didn’t think I would like, but ended up loving.  Now, I’ve had games that I thought I would love and wound up finding just mediocre, or outright disliking.  But I think for this one I’ll go with Mass Effect.

My cousin had Mass Effect and said it was really good.  My best friend’s husband kept telling me to play Mass Effect.  I kept insisting I didn’t care for RPGs, and I wasn’t huge on space or sci-fi games.  But I was looking for a new game to play, so when my cousin offered to let me borrow and play his copy of ME, I said, why not.  After all, if I didn’t like it, which I thought I probably wouldn’t, at least I didn’t spend any money on it, right?

I started in on it, attempting to put my skepticism aside.  The first thing I noted was that, while it was an RPG, it had many elements of a 3rd person shooter.  I could handle that, having played Red Dead Redemption: Undead Nightmare.  I picked up on the controls pretty easily, and while some of them were a little clunky, it was manageable.  I got through the first mission on Eden Prime and picked up Kaiden and Ashley and spoke with them.

By then I started getting into the characters and story, and the more story I learned the more I began to like the game.  It was a case of the story and characters transcending the genre.  I try not to always base my likes and opinions on genre, whether it be music, movies, or games, but most times it can’t be helped.  However, sometimes some things transcend their genres, and found that ME was one such game.

While I didn’t do EVERYthing I could in the game, I really enjoyed it and went on to ME2 (which my cousin gave me for my birthday).  And once things settle down a bit I’ll get to playing ME3 as well.  While there are other games I like more than ME, I definitely think Mass Effect is one game I didn’t think I’d like, but ended up loving.

Leave a Reply

