30 Days of Video Games: Day 30, favorite game of all time

Phew!  It took more than 30 days, but I’ve made it and answered every prompt!  I do apologize for things falling apart in the end, but finishing it up was important to me.  And now we come to the end.  I’ve done a lot of thinking about my gaming history and what makes a game enjoyable for me, and why I have the games I have and play the ones I do.  So trying to figure out my favorite game of all time should be easy, right?  Wrong.  Once again I’m torn between the fact that I like some games for story, and some for gameplay style. In some cases I like a game for its nostalgia value.

So I think I have two favorite games of all time: for gaming style, Tetris.  For story, Dragon Age.

Tetris’s premise is simple, and the gaming style is timeless.  Tetris is a game you can pick up anywhere and the controls are the same, the game is the same, the objective is the same.  It can be played on any platform, and it’s extremely portable.  I can get into a zone and get to the point where I’m dreaming in blocks, but I really enjoy playing it.

As far as story goes, it’s definitely Dragon Age.  I love the storyline and how in depth it is.  I once considered answering Metroid for this, but I have a hard time with it because the storyline is so convoluted and inconsistent now.  Dragon Age has a very long, in-depth storyline with very little deviation from the facts that it establishes early on.  Even the outside material such as the novels doesn’t do much to contradict what’s given in the games.  There are some facts that have some contradiction, but it’s nothing huge and major that makes you wonder what they were thinking—or if they were thinking.

The games are vast without being too huge (cough, Skyrim.  Love it, but…) and the stories and characters have depth.  Even the most minor character adds a lot to the story.  Characters like King Cailan in Origins and Jethann in DA2 have enough personality on their own to be more than just minor side characters.  There are major plots and sub plots, and it all works together very nicely.  Each game sets up for the next without being  a place holder.  They work together as games, and with the peripheral materials such as novels and comics.  It all creates a vast world that’s interesting and has depth of story and character.  I get the feeling that the world is very old, even though the first game was made in 2009.

I also met MLHawke through Dragon Age, and she’s become a wonderful, close friend.  And through her and her husband, I met a larger group of friends.  And through them, I met Bard.  Because of the depth of material DA gives me to work with, I began writing for a DA website.  I started blogging about video games.  It brought me into a whole new world.  And with DA3 on the horizon (but still hypothetical) it’s going to make the world bigger, deeper, and more interesting.  It excites me!

4 comments on “30 Days of Video Games: Day 30, favorite game of all time

  1. Hooray for Dragon Age! =) I agree, actually, on both of these fronts – Tetris is a fun game, and one that I’m considering introducing Kender to soon, I think she’s smart enough to handle it, and Dragon Age, is, well, Dragon Age.

    • Awesome!! It was a fun way to make sure I blogged regularly, and it really forced me to critically analyze my gaming past, present, and future 🙂

      • I am a little intimidated by the blogging every day. Life is super busy already. =)
        At least I tried to prepare a bit. Went through the list to make sure I could answer each one. Which ended up in me changing almost half of the questions. But I figured they are still game questions. Was a bit too story heavy and redundant for my taste.
        I’m babbling, sorry, just looking forward to starting!

Leave a Reply

